Geological Science

The department of Geological Sciences offers a comprehensive undergraduate curriculum in the Geological Sciences (3 year major) including an honours program (4th year). At the postgraduate level the department offers a Master of Science (by thesis) as well as a full PhD program.

Research is conducted in a wide range of subdisciplines and the department has strengths in geochemistry, mantle petrology, igneous and metamorphic petrology, Precambrian studies, marine geoscience, environmental geochemistry, and structural and economic geology.

The department has a wide range of analytical facilities. The efficient production of high-quality abundance data for major and trace elements, ionic species, radiogenic and stable isotopes, and mineral proportions is fundamental to many of its research endeavours. Apart from installation and maintenance activities, the staff also conduct developmental research to establish and refine analytical techniques.

For more information, refer to the:


University of Cape Town
Rondebosch, Western Cape
South Africa



t: +27 21 650 2931